The teen behind-the-wheel course consists of 14 50-minute periods with our professional instructors. These 14 periods are broken up into 7, 1 hour and 40 minute sessions - 50 minutes of driving and 50 minutes of observing. As required by the Virginia curriculum, students must complete this course with at least one other student driver in the vehicle.

Course Requirements

Individuals under age 18 must submit 3 requirements:

  • a copy of their learner's permit
  • a completed 45-hour driving log with parent signature.
  • a state approved driver education course, classroom or online version.

If you have any questions please visit our FAQs.


Enrollment is limited and students are enrolled on a first come, first served basis. Students may enroll by visiting the school and by submitting the registration form. A completed form and the student driver contract must be turned in before the first day of class.

Q: What is the pricing for the teen behind-the-wheel course?

A: Pricing is based on the area of pick up and drop off.

  • $240 - Hampton, Newport News, Yorktown & Poquoson
  • $260 - Gloucester*
  • $270 - Smithfield & Williamsburg*
  • $290 - Isle of Wight, Carrollton, Suffolk, Churchland, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Virginia Beach & Portsmouth*​

*Limited areas are serviced.

Teen Graduated Licensing (In-Vehicle Course)

Teen Behind-the-Wheel Course

Q: What is Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)?

A: It is a three-stage approach to ease new drivers into driving by providing practice and skill development under low-risk conditions. This process of incrementally increasing a new driver's privileges has been shown to reduce teen crashes, injuries, and deaths.

Stage 1: The Learner's Permit

At 15 years and 6 months, individuals are eligible for a learner's permit.

  • Individuals must pass
    • a traffic sign test (100%)
    • a general knowledge test (80%)
    • a vision test
  • ​Teens under age 18 must hold a learner's permit for 9 months to be eligible for a driver's license.
  • Teens under age 18 must complete a state approved driver education program - includes driver education course and behind-the-wheel course - to earn a driver's license.
  • Teens under age 18 must spend at least 45 hours of driving, 15 of which are after sunset, under the supervision of a licensed instructor age 21 and older. Every driver under age 18 must submit a driving log showing the dates and lengths of drive time for each supervised trip. The log must be signed by a parent or guardian. Download 45-Hour Parent Teen Driving Guide here

Stage 2: The Provisional License

After individuals complete the driver education program, they receive a 180-day provisional license that is valid after holding a learner's permit for 9 months.

  • Provisional license holders may not drive unsupervised between the hours midnight and 4 A.M.
  • Provisional license holders may carry only one passenger under age 21, unless accompanied by a licensed parent, or other adult acting in place of a parent, in the front passenger seat. 

(passenger restrictions do not apply to family members)

View the full list of Teen Driving Restrictions here

Stage 3: The Final License

Individuals must be at least 16 years and 3 months old to qualify for a driver's license.

Individuals must meet the requirements of the provisional license stage.

  • Once the driver education program is completed, the driver training school notifies the Richmond Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office and they process the license information. Parents will then receive a notification from their local court to bring their child for the presentation of the juvenile's driver's license.​
top notch driving school va virginia


(757) 926-5956