Instructions for Taking the Online Course
In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable using a computer (mobile devices are not recommended).
Once we receive the form and the fee, the student email provided will receive the login information (parent email if student is under age 18). Since registrations are completed by hand, please allow at least 24 hours for the confirmation email.A longer period may be required for submissions after business hours or on holidays.
When the student has completed the course they will receive a directive to come to our school to take the final exam. The student will need to schedule a test appointment. The student will need to achieve, at minimum, a score of 80% to receive a passing score on written tests. If passing scores are not achieved on the first try, the test must be taken again. The student may take one online test within a 24 hour period.
Our school will provide the computer needed to complete the exam. The student takes the final examination online in the presence of the licensed instructor. Upon successful completion of the final exam the student will receive the course completion certificate.
If the student fails the examination, the student will be allowed to review any section of the completed course to prepare to take the examination again.
Students must schedule a time to take the test prior to arrival. Students will not be able to take the test if they arrive without notice.
On the day of testing, you must bring the following to the test site:
Our school will provide the computer needed to complete the exam. The school will also provide the parental consent form DTS 62 for students under age 18.
Q: What is the online driver education course?
A: The online driver education course is the equivalent of the 30 hour classroom driver education course that is required for the Virginia Driver Education Program. It consists of 7 levels. Each level has a test. Tests for levels 1 through 6 will be completed at home; level 7, the final exam, must be taken at our school location.
We have partnered with the National Driver Training Institute to provide our students with the online classroom Virginia teen driver education course. The program consists of at least 30 hours of instructions and include components about alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel efficient driving practices, motorcycle awareness and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law.
Individuals under age 18 are required to complete this course (or the classroom version) in order to earn a driver's license.
Q: What is the price of the course?
A: The price for online driver education is $150.
Q: Are there any restrictions on who may take the online course?
A: Yes. You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to take the online driver education course.
All individuals who elect to take the classroom component of the driver's education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home-schooled students are exempt from this requirement.
Schedule a Test Appointment
|School Hours of Operation|
Top Notch Driving Schools Inc.
878 J Clyde Morris Boulevard
Newport News, VA 23601
Monday: 10am - 5pm
Tuesday: 10am - 5pm
Wednesday: 11am - 5pm
Thursday: 10am - 5pm
Friday: 10am - 5pm
Saturday: Appointment Only
Closed on Holidays
If you have any questions or comments about the course, call us Monday through Friday from 10am to 5pm at (757) 926-5956 or email us at email@example.com.
For technical support, call the National Driver Training Institute help desk Monday through Friday from 8am to 6pm (central time) at 1-800-942-2050. You can also send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. If you have comments or concerns about this course, call the DMV toll-free number 1-877-885-5790.
Please fill out the form using the link and we'll get back to you within 24 hours. Forms sent after business hours or on holidays will receive a reply as soon as possible.
CLICK HERE for DMV Approval