Q: I NEED TO CONTACT YOU, BUT NO ONE ANSWERED THE PHONE?
A: Our business hours are not always the same. We try to stay available during our google listed business hours but that is not always possible when we're teaching class, driving with students, or speaking to other students in-person or over the phone.
Q: HOW DO I REGISTER FOR YOUR COURSES?
A: You can register for any of our courses online. Simply click the register link in the menu or click here. If you are registering for one of our online courses the correct registration form link will be located at the top of the page.
Q: HOW MUCH ARE YOUR COURSES AND WHEN IS THE REGISTRATION FEE DUE?
A: You can find our prices by clicking here. Registration fees are due on the class date or the start date of your course.
Q: WHAT PAYMENT METHODS ARE ACCEPTED AND WHAT IS YOUR REFUND POLICY?
A: We accept cash, money orders, credit card or debit card. We only accept checks in necessary circumstances. If you need to pay with a check, please call the office to speak with a staff member. Our refund policy can be found here.
Q: IS THERE A CONDUCT POLICY?
A: Yes. TNDSI has certain rules of conduct that the student hereby agrees to abide by always. The student is fully accountable for their conduct. Failure to comply with the rules may result in the student being dismissed from the program without refund. The following is a list of TNDSI rules:
Q: AT WHAT AGE CAN I BEGIN DRIVER EDUCATION?
A: You can begin driver education at 15 years and 6 months old. There is no age maximum, this course is also available to adults.
Q: IF I MISS A CLASS OR TWO, IS THAT OKAY?
A: State law requires a minimum of 30 hours of instruction to be completed. If you miss a class period, you must schedule a make up day with the course instructor for the successful completion of the course.
Q: HOW OLD MUST I BE TO APPLY FOR A LEARNER'S PERMIT?
A: The age when you can apply to take the permit test is 15 years and 6 months old.
Q: DO I STILL NEED TO TAKE THE PERMIT TEST IF I AM OLDER THAN AGE 18?
A: Yes. Any new driver is required to complete the Virginia graduated driver licensing program. The requirements for juveniles and adults are different. For more information, you can click here.
Q: HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO HOLD MY PERMIT?
A: If you are under age 18, you must hold the permit for 9 months before you can be issued a driver's license. You can take the behind-the-wheel course prior to the completion of the 9 months as long as you have the required documents. The license will be held by the school or your parent until the eligibility date on the license is valid. If you are age 18 or older, you must hold the permit for 60 days before you can take the DMV road skills test and be issued a driver's license.
Q: IF I HAVE AN OUT-OF-STATE PERMIT CAN I TRANSFER IT OVER TO VIRGINIA?
A: No. If you are from out-of-state, to obtain a Virginia learner's permit, you will be required to surrender your out-of-state learner's permit, complete a knowledge exam, meet the identity, legal presence, residency, and social security requirements and Virginia's driver education requirements, if applicable. The time in which you held your out-of-state learner's permit will be counted toward the Virginia minimum holding period for a learner's permit.
Q: WHAT HAPPENS IF I FAIL THE PERMIT TEST (KNOWLEDGE TEST) 3 TIMES?
A: If you fail the knowledge exam three times and are age 18 or older, you must either retake the classroom component of driver education (consisting of 36 50-minute classroom sessions) or complete an 8-hour Driver's Manual Course. If you fail the knowledge exam three times and are under age 18, you must retake the classroom component of driver education. If you wish to take the Driver's Manual Course, you must provide proof of having completed the classroom component of driver education before you are allowed to enroll in the Driver's Manual Course.
Q: WHAT WILL I LEARN FROM THE INSTRUCTOR DURING THE 4 DRIVING LESSONS OR LONGER PACKAGES OF TRAINING?
A: Not all students progress or learn at the same rate. Some students have received informal training before beginning their lessons. While such students may be moved through the course curriculum at a faster rate, it is necessary that they receive the same basic training as a beginner. In these cases, the curriculum would continue to be followed, but less time would need to be spent on the basics. The additional time gained would then be used to provide additional training on more advanced skills.
Q: CAN I USE THE TNDSI VEHICLE FOR MY ROAD TEST?
A: Yes, if you wish to use our vehicle for the DMV road test you must give us enough time to schedule it. The road test is included in the behind-the-wheel course for juveniles and adults.
Q: WHAT HAPPENS IF I FAIL THE ROAD TEST 3 TIMES?
A: If you fail the road test three times, you must retake the behind-the-wheel component of driver education. If you are age 18 or older, this component consists of 7 50-minute periods of in-vehicle instruction (only driving). If you are under age 18, this component consists of 14 50-minute periods of in-vehicle instruction (7 50-minute periods of driving and 7 50-minute periods of observation).
Q: WHAT IS REQUIRED FOR THE BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE?
A: You will need to submit:
Q: DO YOU KEEP THE DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED BY THE STUDENT?
A: Yes. We keep the documents in your student file for at least 3 years as required by Virginia law. After 3 years, the documents will be shredded for security purposes.
Q: HOW DO YOU SCHEDULE THE COURSE?
A: Courses are scheduled as students register. We are usually booked at least 2 weeks in advance so give us a call to find out our availability.
Q: DO I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO DRIVE BEFORE I ENROLL IN THE BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE?
A: Yes. The behind-the-wheel course is for a certified instructor to verify that you can drive and to correct any bad driving habits as necessary.
Q: HOW LONG DO I NEED TO PRACTICE DRIVING BEFORE THE BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE?
A: To address traffic crashes involving teenagers, action was taken by the Virginia General Assembly to require parents, foster parents, or guardians to certify that their children, under age 18, have driven motor vehicles for at least 45 hours, 15 of which must be after sunset, before they are eligible for a provisional driver’s license.
Q: CAN I USE MY BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE DRIVING MINUTES ON MY 45-HOUR DRIVING LOG?
A: No. The 45-hour driving log needs to be separate from the course. For information about the driving log see the question above.
Q: WHY IS THERE AN ADDITIONAL FEE FOR ADULTS LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE DURING THE BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE?
A: The behind-the-wheel course is to verify that a student can drive for a driver's license and the cost of teaching a student how to drive is not included in the base price. Since adults are not required to meet the same driving hours as students under age 18, we offer the option for adults to learn how to drive while in the course for the additional fee.
Q: CAN PARENTS SIT IN FOR DRIVER EDUCATION AND THE BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE?
A: Parents are welcome to sit in a classroom session, if space permits. Parents are not permitted to sit in for the behind-the-wheel course since the course requires for students to observe each other during driving sessions. However, parents are permitted to ride along during one-on-one driving lessons. Please make prior arrangements with the instructor. Parents must follow all directions and cannot talk during the lesson unless specifically asked by the instructor. If the instructor finds the parent to be a distraction, they can ask the parent to remove themselves from the lesson.
Q: DO I NEED TO PUT MY CHILD ON MY INSURANCE?
A: You will need to check with your insurance company. The student is fully covered by our insurance while driving our school vehicles with our instructors.
Q: MY CHILD HAS A LEARNING DISABILITY; CAN THEY ATTEND YOUR COURSE?
A: In this particular situation, we would recommend that you discuss your student's individual needs with the instructor for the course you need. We appreciate advance notice in these situations so that we may work together to make the student's experience a success.
TRAINING INQUIRIES 757-926-5956 | © 2018 TOP NOTCH DRIVING SCHOOLS INC. | A VIRGINIA DMV LICENSED DRIVING SCHOOL