As stated on the DMV site:
The program consists of 14 fifty-minute periods in-car instructions (7 periods of driving and 7 periods of observation, including the final road skills examination).
If you are a Virginia resident under age 18, you must hold your Virginia learner's permit for at least nine months and complete a Virginia state-approved driver education program to operate a vehicle without an adult passenger.
You will need to have the items below to be eligible for this course:
You will have to complete this course with at least one other student. If you decide to complete the driving portion of the course with one-on-one instruction, you will still be required to meet the observation requirements.
If you are a Virginia resident age 18 or older and have never held a license issued by any state, U.S. territory or foreign country, you must either:
To reserve a date or several dates, we require a parent/guardian or student (age 18 or older) to sign the student driver contract. The contract states the terms and conditions of being enrolled in our course. The contract MUST be signed to reserve the date requested or given by staff.
Does a teen need to know how to drive before enrolling in behind-the-wheel training?
Yes, anyone wanting to enroll in the behind-the-wheel course must already know how to drive.
Students under the age of 18 are required by law to have a completed 45-hour driving log signed by a parent or legal guardian licensed driver before beginning the course. If desired, you can hire the driver training school to teach the applicant how to drive.
When can a teen drive without an adult licensed passenger?
Once the behind-the-wheel course has been successfully completed, the teen will receive a course completion certificate (DTS B) that when carried with a learner's permit acts as a temporary license. Teens must hold their permit for 9 months and be at least 16 years and 3 months old before they can use this license to drive without an adult licensed passenger.